Etisalat Prize for Literature Calls for Entries for 2018

The prestigious prize among the African writers who have just debuted with their maiden work of fiction has once again been announced. The Etisalat has called for entries for the Etisalat Prize for Literature, the year 2018. The entry window has opened on 3 July and would remain open until 18 September 2017. The participants who come from the African belt can submit their works for the prize during this period. This would be the fifth consecutive prize year by Etisalat Nigeria.

Such prizes become necessary to promote literature and literary practices among the readers as well as the writers. The bench of judges for this year’s prize decision has also been announced by the committee and Harry Garuba (chair), Doreen Baingana and Siphiwo Mahala are the finalised names. The panel of judges will announce first the long list of 9 finalists. Among those finalists, three shortlisted names will be chosen for the shortlist and a winner will be decided to be prized with £15,000, and a classic engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen. In addition to that, an Etisalat-sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia will also be awarded to the winner. The winner will be mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of ‘The Last King of Scotland’. What else could an author want?

The authors from African belt can visit the website and look for more details of the prize and also the terms and conditions to present their candidature for the said prize.

Previous winners of the Etisalat Prize for Literature:

2016: Jowhor Ile (And After Many Days)
2015: Fiston Mwanza Mujila
2014: Songeziwe Mahlangu
2013: NoViolet Bulawayo

The pan-African prestigious prize has started with a purpose of promoting the literature among the public. Moreover, the accolades are always morale boosting for the people involved in producing literature and this prize has further widened the horizon of ambition for the African writers.