JCB Prize for Literature – 2018 long list is here with 10 Novels

Literature awards updates on news

So, an Indian Brand of the literary prize has kicked off – the JCB Prize for Literature has unveiled, yesterday, the longlist with 10 novels on it for the inaugural edition of the literary honour which bestows a prize of 25 lakh rupees on the winner. It is no surprise seeing the novel of Jeet Thayil featured on the longlist – he is capable of doing things like these and we knew it the first time when his debut novel was shortlisted for Man Booker Prize – Narcopolish. So, which authors are on the long list?

The Shortlist for JCB Award for Literature, 2018 Released – Click Here

In a Tweet and a Facebook post, the authorities of JCB Prize for Literature announced their longlist and the novels are:

Half the Night is Gone: Written by Amitabha Bagchi

Jasmine Days: Written by Benyamin

Clouds: Written by Chandrahas Choudhury

Poonachi: Written by Perumal Murugan

Jasoda: Written by Kiran Nagarkar

All the Lives We Never Lived: Written by Anuradha Roy

When the Moon Shines by Day: Written by Nayantara Sahgal

Latitudes of Longing: Written by Shubhangi Swarup

The Book of Chocolate Saints: Written by Jeet Thayil

Empire: Written by Devi Yesodharan

It should be known to the readers that the committee of juries read 60 novels which were submitted for consideration. The longlist has included only 10 novels out of 60 and we are expecting to see the shortlist on October 3 and finally, the winner on October 27. Shortlist for JCB Prize will contain 5 novels on it.

The Indian edition of literary awards become very useful for the Indian authors because not all of them get the opportunity to state their claims for the major international awards – reasons are many. JCB Prize for Literature has brought the opportunity to fame and finance for the authors who really have that talent in them – to write something different and meaningful. We wish the very best to all the novelists on the longlist and we will update you with the list of shortlisted novels for the prize as it is announced.

Award Desk – Literature News