2018 PEN America Literary Awards – full winners’ list

The 2018 PEN America awards have been announced and we have a new mini-galaxy of authors and poets who have made it to there. We have brought to you a simple list of winners without much of the news thing so that you can be aware of the literary awardees for the year 2018 by PEN America. And here you go:

Full list of the PEN America Literary Awards for the year 2018

PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction: This award was given to the novelist Edmund White for his ‘body of work’ depicting the modern gay life which tantamount to his achievement in the American Fiction.

PEN/Nabokov Award for Achievement in International Literature: This award went to Irish novelist Edna O’
Brien for her remarkable achievement in the international literature and judges noted that her works allow the readers to clearly observe various aspects of human emotions.

PEN/Jean Stein Book Award: This award was claimed by a debutant – the poet Layli Long Soldier for her debut poetry collection, Whereas. Her poetry was observed having a keen eye for history and language.

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Award: This award was given to a debut author Jenny Zhang. She claimed the prize for her debut short story collection Sour Heart. Her collection presents a Chinese-American growing young mixture to the readers.

PEN/Open Book Award: This was clinched by Alexis Okeowo for the book A Moonless, Starless Sky.

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award: It was claimed by the well-known literary personality, Ursula K. Le Guin for her No Time to Spare which is a set of musings on old age and anything and everything about this universe.

PEN/Laura Pels Award for Master Dramatist: This was given to the well-known and critically acclaimed dramatist Luis Alfaro.

PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal: This was given to Barbara Harshavwas for her well-known contribution to the field of literary translation. She has translated more than 40 works.

PEN/Voelcker Award for Poetry: This award went to Kamau Brathwaite for the unmatchable contribution to the Caribbean poetry and literature and thus enriching the world literature.

PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Literary Sports Writing: It was given to the well-known sports writer Dave Kindred. He has been writing in the sports field for more than two decades.


by an LN Contributor